Skip to content

WTF and/or LOL, Part 2

February 28, 2011

The other day I heard the tone on my phone that tells me I just got a text, so I checked for it. It was from LOD. And it said, “I love you too!”

Um.

What?

I scrolled back up to see what I missed, and it turns out the last outgoing message from my phone said, “I lov u DaD this is [5-year-old son’s name]”

Ahhhhhh. Exhale.

I remember when our older son (who is going to be 9 this week) started texting, and how delighted I was to get surprise messages from him, even when they came from his dad’s number. And now our little one is excited about language and spelling and written communication, and likes to text what he’s doing and that he loves us.

It is lovely to get these messages when LOD and I are getting along. It’s a little painful when we’re disagreeing, because if we’re in the middle of some painful negotiation, then every time I see that there’s a text from him, I steel myself. And then it’s from one of the kids, telling me how much they love me, or asking if they can have tacos for supper, or something like that.

It’s bittersweet.

And it makes me one of Those Parents who can’t wait until my kids have their own phones.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chrissy permalink
    February 28, 2011 4:34 pm

    Getting a text message from the ex can be an anxious experience, even when you know it could be from the kiddos. It is wonderful that you allow your kids to use your phones to contact each other. My DH (and the D doesn’t stand for Dear) refuses to let the girls call me but once a day for 15 minutes (total between the two) – and they aren’t allowed to use their very own phone while in his custody. Three cheers for you!

  2. February 28, 2011 5:22 pm

    I totally laughed at this; I’ve had almost the exact same experience.

    Several months back, my ex and I were going through a very rough patch; it was maddening to have to call his phone (and speak to him) any time I needed (or just wanted) to speak to our daughter.

    Never in a million years did I think I would be the kind of parent to get her 10 year old child her own cell phone, but in a fit of frustration that is exactly what I did, so that she could communicate with whichever parent she wasn’t with.

    Guess what? She is probably the only 4th grader on the planet who has NO interest whatsoever in having her own phone (all her friends would *kill* for their own phone, they tell her), so half the time her phone is at whichever house she is NOT at. So….her dad and I still end up calling each other to speak to her. Oh well, it’s better than the alternative of having her abuse the stupid thing! 😉

Leave a Reply

